CHET’S TOP 10 MOVIES OF 2009

I slacked at the cinema this year.  I can’t believe it.  We’re nearing the end of 2009 and here’s what I HAVE NOT seen: Up in the Air, Precious, Where the Wild Things Are, Moon, An Education, and A Serious Man.  I feel somewhat defeated, so without further ado here are my top 10 favorites of 2009:

#10 Up – I’m not a big cartoon fan but Up roped me in.  The 5 minute montage of courtship, marriage, and old age is heavy enough to make the hardest of people teary-eyed. 

Click below to see the rest of the list.

#9 (500) Days of Summer – I didn’t care for this movie upon first watching but I gave it another shot.  It’s brilliant.  Few movies have the balls to tell you exactly how they’re going to end and then keep you entertained.  I’m still mad at Zooey Dechanel because of her character in this movie.  I hope I get over her eventually.

 

#8 Zombieland – The most fun I’ve had at the movies all year.  Period.  It’s good to see Woody Harrelson back.  Not to mention it features the best cameo in movie history imo. 

#7 The Fantastic Mr. Fox – Beautifully done film.  There is so much detail in this film that it’s hard to imagine any other director being able to do the job that Wes Anderson did. 

#6 District 9 – Biggest out of nowhere movie of the year.  I knew if Peter Jackson’s name was on it that it had to be good.  I was right.  The director Neill Blomkamp is working on a movie about Area 51.  I can’t wait. 

#5 Star Trek – I’ve never been into Star Trek but I am now.  JJ Adrams took this almost dead franchise and gave it some much needed life.  Plus Zoe Saldana is a total babe. 

#4 The Hangover – World meet Zach Galifianakis.  Zach Galifianakis meet the mainstream.  ERK introduced me to his material a couple years ago.  He’s now getting the success he deserves.  Best cast of 2009.  Sorry Nine cast but no one cares about your movie even if Daniel Day Lewis is in it singing and dancing. 

#3 Anvil: The Story of Anvil – No movie inspired me quite like this one did.  I netflixed it and watched it 3 times in one weekend.  I also made GB watch it and recommended it to several friends.  If everyone were to look at life in the same way that Steve “Lips” Kudlow does then this world would be a better place.

#2 Inglourious Basterds – I’m going to get shit for this, but it’s my favorite Tarantino film.  I can’t explain it.  I was mesmerized by the story and the characters.  If Christoph Waltz doesn’t get an Oscar for this movie then there is something wrong with the voting academy.  He’s absolutely terrifying as Col. Hans Landa, but you still kind of like him.  How does an actor do that? 

#1 The Hurt Locker –  By far the most suspenseful film of the year and my favorite.  The director Kathryn Bigelow (who also directed Point Break) gave us an intimate look at what its like to be part of a bomb squad in Baghdad.  You may want to wear diapers to this one.   It’s intense.  Here’s hoping it wins Best Picture and Best Director. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Awesomeness

Leave a Reply

