LET ME INTRODUCE YOU TO…THE SUCKERS

Last night I got a phone call around 9 o’clock from Erk telling me to come down to some sketch bar in East Nashville to see The Suckers play a short set before they head off to SXSW.  The way he explained it you would have thought it was the second coming of The Beatles.  After 20 minutes of debate I hopped in the car and went on down to Matty’s Alley.

When I got there, Erk and Wick were sitting at a table with the band having a couple of beers.  Their friend Austin plays guitar in the band so they introduced me to the guys and we watched Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson finish his set.  Most of the crowd of 15 was there to see Miles play and I noticed when he finished that Erk told some neighboring patrons to stick around because they were about to be amazed. 

I’ve seen a lot of live acts – especially next great thing bands.  The album always sounds great in my car, but they never seem to be able to piece it together live.  Last night was the exception.  Last night I witnessed something truly amazing.  I saw four guys making the music of a 10 piece band.  I saw people get up off their asses and start really moving – not because they felt like they needed to but because the music commanded them to.  It was an uncontrollable groove that took over everyone’s body.  You couldn’t help but get into it. 

I was so charged up after their performance that it took me 2 hours to get to sleep.  Their full length comes out in June or July, but don’t wait until then to check them out.  They’ve got an EP they released last summer that’s exceptionally done.  They’re in Austin today playing for the masses and will soon be on every blog imaginable.  I just wanted to give you a head’s up so you can tell the hipster elite that you heard them first. 

Here’s a little taste of their sound, but this clip does not do them justice.  Buy the EP and then go see them live.  You’ll thank me later:

Leave a comment

Filed under Awesomeness

Leave a Reply

