NEW TUNE TUESDAY: MGMT

I can’t help but get excited whenever I hear “Kids”, “Time to Pretend” or “Electric Feel” from MGMT’s debut album Oracular Spectacular.  Whether you heard one of those songs on a blog or in a movie, you were hooked the minute it came on.  You also probably got excited when you heard they were releasing a new album this Spring. 

If you’ve already downloaded Congratulations this morning, you’ve probably been scratching your head ever since.  I’ve made it through 8 out of 9 tracks on Congratulations – only because itunes says “Siberian Breaks” is processing and has been for 4 hours.  I didn’t know what to expect after reading some early reviews, but I love it.  It’s trippy and different and exactly what I want from a band trying to grow. 

I’m sure many people will be looking for “Time To Pretend” 2 and it’s not on there.  This album is not for the casual listener.  I don’t really know who it’s for honestly, but that won’t stop me from enjoying it.  It’s not perfect, but it’s a great sophmore effort.   

2.5 out of 5 stars

1 Comment

Filed under Awesomeness

One response to “NEW TUNE TUESDAY: MGMT

  1. Go pick up the Bryan Adams anthology and be prepared to have your ASS thoroughly rocked. just thinking about my music makes me hard.

Leave a Reply

