BAD LIEUTENANT REVIEW

Rarely do I see movies where I feel the need to bring them up in conversation when we’re not talking about film.  For the past week I’ve caught myself discussing Warner Herzog’s Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans with pretty much everyone that will listen. 

I can’t really explain it, but I’m addicted to this movie.  Maybe it’s because I secretly liked Nic Cage in The Rock and Con Air and I feel for him.  His career continues to be a joke every inch his hairline recedes. 

I read everything there was to read about this film before it came to Nashville.  I had my doubts.  I was skeptical.  I heard Herzog was a nutcase and like I said before no one really takes Nic Cage seriously so why see this movie?  It pretty much fell in my cart at Targer.  It was $20 and I just got paid. 

As much as I love being right, I love being proven wrong just as much.  This is phenomenal movie.  Nic Cage plays a drug addicted cop trying to solve a brutal murder in a post-Hurricane Katrina in New Orleans.  Eva Mendes is his crack head prostitute girlfriend.  Sounds like a recipe for disaster doesn’t it? 

I won’t tell you what happens in the end, but Nic Cage’s bad lieutenant is captivating.  He’s like a ticking timebomb waiting to go off.  Move it to the top of your queue and thank me later.  What a fucking movie. 

4 out of 5 stars

1 Comment

Filed under Awesomeness

One response to “BAD LIEUTENANT REVIEW

  1. Does this movie have a Bryan Adams song on the soundtrack? No? then WHY THE HELL are you reviewing it. Check out Robin Hood I think you might like that one

Leave a Reply

