KICK ASS REVIEW

I haven’t read Kick Ass the comic but I read about 5 reviews before seeing it this weekend.  One review said all other comic book movies would have a hard time competing with it – that it made the Spider-Man franchise look like child’s play.  Another review said it was too violent and sent an awful message to America’s youth.  I don’t have a big problem with violence especially if it helps tell the story, so I knew which way I would lean here.

Kick Ass is the story of a dorky high school kid who tries to change his image by becoming a superhero named Kick Ass.  Like many superheroes his goal is to rid the world of crime one day at a time.  Without giving too much away, he quickly learns that being a superhero isn’t as easy as it is in the comics. 

The movie is perfectly paced and very well acted.  Newcomer Aaron Johnson cast as Dave Lizewski / Kick Ass is more than believable as dorky highschooler.  The real suprise here is Chloe Moretz as Hit Girl and of course my new favorite actor Nic Cage as her father Big Daddy.  Finally Cage is taking some roles that actually make sense. 

The movie is by no means perfect.  I thought the climax was a little too much, but that didn’t stop me from wanting to leap out of my seat and clap at the end (I didn’t don’t worry).  Kick Ass only made 19 million this weekend.  It was expected to make around 40 million.  Please support good movies and go see this one.  Trust me. 

4.5 out of 5 stars

Leave a comment

Filed under Awesomeness

Leave a Reply

