IRON MAN 2 REVIEW

Let me start this review by saying I loved the first Iron Man – like f**king loved it.  It’s my favorite super hero movie.  I know the Dark Knight is the quintessential super hero movie and I love that movie too, but I enjoy watching Iron Man more because of Robert Downey Jr.  He’s an absolute pro.  Iron Man wouldn’t be sh*t without him.

Iron Man 2 is a wonderful complement to the first film – which is not to say that it’s flawless.  It’s got one scene I could do without (you’ll know which one) and there are few things they don’t explain properly, but those petty things didn’t prevent me from loving it.

I don’t need to tell you how great Robert Downey Jr. is as Tony Stark / Iron Man.  I will tell you that surprisingly Mickey Rourke and his Russian accent did not get on my nerves.  Either did Scarlett Johansson.  She’s got a minor role and looks pretty friggin’ hot in her Black Widow costume (I love a good catsuit).  Don Cheadle, who takes over Terrence Howard’s character, is a welcome addition to the cast.

The film is not lacking in action.  It could probably use a little bit more in the middle but the film moves from scene to scene in a hurry.  I think they tried to fit as much as they could in 2 hours.  You’ll notice most super hero movies are around 2.5 hours or more because they try to explose some deeper meeting.  Iron Man 2 does not take itself too seriously and that’s a plus for me.   

If you liked the first film, then you’ll like this one too – unless you’re a total renob.

4 out 5 stars

1 Comment

Filed under Awesomeness

One response to “IRON MAN 2 REVIEW

  1. Thought it was Ok to say the least. Check out my review here: http://dtmmr.wordpress.com/2010/05/14/iron-man-2-2010/

Leave a Reply

