BLACK EYED PEAS AND THE SUPER BOWL

Let’s be honest, the Super Bowl halftime show last night was horrendous.  The spectacle of lights and movement was ok…I guess, but I wasn’t watching for that.  I was watching because the Black Eyed Peas were supposed to blow me away.  They’ve sold a zillion records.  After their performance, I wondered why.

I’ve respected them since I read an interview with will.i.am in Rolling Stone magazine last summer.  He’s an interesting guy.  He doesn’t need the other 3 to further his career.  He’s hit the top before and no doubt he’ll do it again (solo).  He’ll be fine without the others, but they won’t be fine without him.  You see tastes have changed since 2008.  I think Katy Perry would have been more entertaining to watch last night.  She seems more relevant than BEP.

I think the big problem with the Black Eyed Peas is that they take themselves too seriously.  They think they speak for the world with their terrible lyrics and ripped off beats.  Maybe I’m being too hard on them.  Then again, Fergie’s rendition of “Sweet Child O’ Mine” was worse than I could have ever imagined.  She sounded like a man trying to hold a tune while passing a kidney stone.

My favorite part of the show was the sign at the end of their performance.  It read “The Beginning.”  It might have been more appropriate it had it read “The End” – as in the end of the Black Eyed Peas career.  BOOM.

Leave a comment

Filed under Awesomeness

Leave a Reply

